THGR810 Wireless Remote Sensor Review

One of the selling points of the Oregon Scientific series of ‘professional’ weather stations (their designation, not mine) is how easy it is to extend their capabilities by adding additional sensors. I put this to the test recently by by purchasing and installing an additional temperature and humidity sensor for my existing WMR88 weather station.

I intend upgrading to the more advanced WMR200 weather station so wanted a sensor that would be guaranteed to work on it and my WMR88. After consulting some compatibility charts provided on the Oregon Scientific web site I settled on the THGR810 which is compatible with both weather station models. Unlike the sensor that comes bundled with the WMR88 (the THGN800), the THGR810 has an LCD screen that displays the current readings. This can be handy as you can consult it directly rather than having to go to the base station. In fact it makes a good sensor even if you don’t have a base station. In addition it can operate over any one of ten channels. While my WMR88 only receives on three channels, an upgrade to the WMR200 would be able to exploit the extra channels. While I am unlikely to require more than three temperature sensors I think that it is better to have the flexibility than not. Besides the THGR810 costs £10 less than its three channel LCD screen equivalent, the THGR800.

I ordered the sensor from UK-based Weather Shop who were offering it for £30 with free delivery. The sensor arrived promptly within a few days and was well packaged. Unboxing provided me with a Sensor, Wall mount, table stand, 2 AAA batteries and instructions:

Click to enlarge

Setting up the sensor is easy. Simply open the back compartment, insert the batteries, flip a toggle switch to choose between centigrade or fahrenheit display and finally select the broadcast channel. To save on  switches the THGR810 provides four small switches for the channel selection with different combinations of switch settings corresponding to different channels. The various settings are detailed in the manual which I will be holding onto for reference should I ever need to alter the channel.

On inserting its batteries the sensor immediately began to report temperature and humidity readings on its LCD display. Handily it also displays the current channel. It also translates the current readings into a ‘Comfort Level’ which can be one of ‘Wet’, ‘Comfortable’ and ‘Dry’. This strikes me as being a bit pointless as, if I am in the same space as the sensor to read the display, then I already know if I am comfortable or not.

Click to enlarge

The final step was to get the sensor talking to the base station. Provided the sensor’s broadcast channel is setup correctly this is a simple matter of pressing the ‘Search’ button on the back of the base station and waiting until the sensor next sends a signal.

Once the sensor and base station were ‘paired’ I moved the sensor to its current location in the garage. Despite this being further away than the existing sensors and through several walls I have had none of the intermittent signal problems I have had with them. The difference seems to be that the signal does not have to travel through an exterior wall to get from the garage to the base station.

Installing extra sensors for the WMR88 could hardly be easier and is an inexpensive exercise in terms of time and money. My intention is to use my THGR810 as a mobile sensor which can be placed wherever I need it. The supplied table stand, as opposed to the wall mount, is perfect for this purpose as it can moved swiftly. For now it will stay in my garage in preparation for what may be a very cold winter to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Meteorology, Weather Station

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

